Page one for this question is mostly about why plumbers charge what they do, and the few pages about websites quote a range and move on. Nobody laid the sellers’ own pricing pages side by side, so on 16 September 2026 I opened thirteen of them.
Because the sellers are selling different things under one name. On 16 September 2026 I opened thirteen plumber-website seller pages from page one of three searches; nine state a price. They run from a $39-a-month lease to $24,000 paid over twelve months, and the number of pages you get is the smallest part of that gap.
Three things move the price. Whether you own the site when you stop paying: four of the nine say you do, one says the code cannot leave its platform, four do not say. What is bundled with it: hosting and edits, a Google Business Profile, SEO, ad management. And the term: a 90-day minimum, month to month, twelve monthly payments, or paid once.
Ours is on the page: $999 once for up to three pages, or $149 a month for twelve months with hosting, updates and edits included and the site yours at month twelve; five to eight pages with copywriting from $2,499. You own the code, content and domain either way.
A plumber who searches for a website price finds numbers that do not seem to describe the same product, because they do not. One page wants $39 a month. One wants $300 down and $297 a month with a 90-day minimum. One wants $3,000 and then $150 a month for as long as it hosts the site. One wants $2,000 a month for twelve months and says so plainly. Every one of those is a plumber website. This page puts the sellers’ own words in one table, then says which three questions explain the spread — and they are the same three questions you should ask before paying anyone, including me.
On 16 September 2026 I ran three searches — plumber website design pricing packages, plumbing website package price per month and plumber website design cost pricing page — and opened every page on page one that belonged to a seller of plumber websites rather than a blog about them, plus two well-known sellers’ pricing pages by address. Thirteen pages. Two returned HTTP 404 (plumbingwebmasters.com/pricing/ and contractorgorilla.com/pricing/), two carry no figure in the served HTML (linknow.com’s plumbing page, which says “no-contract policy” and nothing about price, and digitallykaro.com’s product page). That leaves nine with a stated price, read once each, the same day. For each I recorded the price, the term, whether the page says you own the site when you stop paying, what is bundled, and the page count where stated. The first-year column is my arithmetic on the seller’s figure, twelve months at the stated rate plus any stated upfront amount; it is not a number the seller publishes.
| Seller page (all read 16 Sep 2026) | Price stated | Term stated | Own it when you stop? | Bundled with the site | Pages stated | First year at the stated price (my arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease a Website (leaseawebsite.co) | “From $39/mo”, “Lease Now” | Not stated | Not stated; sold as a lease | Maintenance; your domain or a free new one | Not stated | $468 |
| Webtricity (webtricity.com) | “$0 setup + $49/mo” you build; “$599 setup + $49/mo” they build | “No Contract”; cancel any time | No — “You cannot build the website with Webtricity and then move the code to another website hosting company” | Hosting on their platform | Not stated | $588 or $1,187 |
| RapidWebLaunch (rapidweblaunch.com) | “$95 / month”, “$0 to build” | “No contract. Cancel anytime.” | Yes — “Yours from day one” | Hosting, unlimited updates, on-page SEO, monthly reports | Not stated | $1,140 |
| 99 Calls (99calls.com) | “build and host a site for your business for just $99 per month” | “No contract” | Not stated | Hosting; lead services sold separately | Not stated | $1,188 |
| Mandy Web Design (mandywebdesign.com) | “Starting From $250/month”, “without any setup costs” | Not stated | Content, yes — WordPress, “complete ownership of your content” | Not itemised | Not stated | $3,000 |
| Claremont Software (claremontsoftware.com) | “$300 Upfront $297/mo” (The Foundation); tiers to “$1,000 Upfront $1,297/mo” | “90-Day Minimum” | Not stated | Hosting, security, maintenance, up to 30 minutes of edits a month; upper tiers add Business Profile, call tracking, ads | “5-8 page” at the first tier, “10-15 page” at the second | $3,864 at the first tier |
| Roundhouse (getroundhouse.com) | “$3,000 one-time build + $150/month hosting and unlimited edits”; bundles from “$1,500 one-time start-up fee $1,200 / month” | “Month-to-month”, 30 days’ notice | Not stated; “Hosting and unlimited edits as long as we host it” | Hosting and edits; the bundles add Local SEO, Business Profile, weekly blogs, ads | “Unlimited pages” | $4,800 for the standalone site |
| Sprout Sage Solutions (sproutsagesolutions.com) | “$500 for a 3-page starter, $1,500 for an 8-page growth site … $4,000 for a 15-plus-page scale site” | “no contract”; paid once | Yes — “on a domain you own outright”, “hosting in your name” | Nothing monthly; you buy hosting | 3, 8, 15+ | $500 to $4,000 plus hosting you buy yourself |
| Hook Agency (hookagency.com) | “$1,000 /mo $12K Total - Split into 12 Months” standard; “$2,000 /mo $24K Total” custom | Twelve monthly payments | Yes — “You own your website 100%” | Not itemised on the pricing page; SEO and ads are separate lines from $2,000 a month | Not stated | $12,000 or $24,000 |
| Nine pages | $39/mo to $24,000 | 7 of 9 state one | 4 yes · 1 no · 4 silent | 6 of 9 include hosting monthly | 3 of 9 state a count |
Read down the ownership column and the spread starts to make sense. The cheapest three rows are subscriptions to a platform or a lease, and the one that explains itself says the code stays put. The dearest row says in the same breath that the site is yours outright. The middle of the table is where the surprises live: a $297-a-month plan with a 90-day minimum that does not say who owns the site, and a $150-a-month hosting line that lasts “as long as we host it”. None of that is hidden. It is on the page, in words a plumber can read, and it is why two quotes for “a website” can be a year apart in cost.
This is the biggest line, and it is the one most sellers leave for the call. Four of the nine say the site is yours; one says the code cannot leave; four say nothing. A subscription site at $39 to $99 a month is honest value for a first year if you know that the day you cancel, the site comes down and you start again. It is a bad deal if you thought you were paying off a purchase. Who owns your website and domain is how to check what you actually hold, and the domain is the part that must be in your name whatever the rest says — one of the platforms above tells you the same thing on its own FAQ.
Six of the nine include hosting in the monthly figure. Beyond that the bundles diverge: edits (30 minutes a month at one seller, unlimited at two), a Google Business Profile setup, weekly blog posts, call tracking, ad management. A $1,200-a-month figure that includes Local SEO and Business Profile work is not a website price at all; it is a marketing retainer with a site attached, and it should be compared with what Grand Rapids agencies charge and with an SEO retainer priced on its own, not with a $500 three-page build. When a figure looks high, find the line that says what else is in it.
Seven of the nine state a term. Month to month with notice is the common shape; one asks a 90-day minimum; one splits a fixed total into twelve payments, which is a purchase on instalments, not a subscription; one is paid once. Read “no contract” carefully: it means you can stop, not that anything transfers when you do. The same reading on SEO retainers is on the contracts page, where one of eight Grand Rapids agency pages stated its term.
Two quotes for “a website” can be a year apart in cost and both be honest. The word is doing too much work.
Only three of the nine sellers say how many pages you get, and where they do, the counts are the ones you would guess: three, five to eight, eight, ten to fifteen. A page count is the thing you can control and the thing that should set the price of the build itself — it is the main driver on our own price list — but across these nine pages it is not what separates $468 from $24,000. Term and ownership are. For what a plumber should pay for the build alone, the arithmetic is here; for what it costs to keep one running each month once it is yours, the monthly-cost page reads the hosting and domain vendors the same way this page reads the sellers.
| What you are offered | Read it as | What to check before paying |
|---|---|---|
| Under $100 a month, nothing upfront | A platform subscription or a lease | What happens on the day you cancel; whether the code can move; whether the domain is registered to you |
| A few hundred upfront, a few hundred a month, a minimum term | A managed site with a service contract | Who owns the site at the end of the minimum; what the monthly figure includes beyond hosting; the notice period |
| Over $1,000 a month | A marketing retainer with a site inside it | Separate the site line from the SEO and ads lines and compare each on its own; ask what you keep if you stop the retainer |
| A one-time price, then hosting you buy | A purchase | That the files, the domain and the hosting account are in your name on launch day; what a change costs afterwards |
| A fixed total split into twelve payments | A purchase on instalments | What transfers at the last payment, and what happens if you stop at month seven |
| “Contact us for pricing” | Common; this sample was found by searching for prices, so it over-represents sellers who publish one | Ask for the four answers above in writing before the proposal, not after |
The four answers are on the page rather than on a call. A Starter Site is $999 once for up to three pages, mobile-first, with the lead form, click-to-call and on-page SEO in the price, half to start and half at launch — or the same build at $149 a month for twelve months on the Own It plan, with hosting, updates and edits included the whole time and the site yours outright at month twelve, code, content and domain. Paying up front is cheaper, $999 once against $1,788 over a year (builtbykerr.com home page), and the home page says so beside the monthly figure. Five to eight pages with copywriting is the $2,499 Business Site. On every project you own all of it at the end; hosting after launch is not in the price unless you take the Care Plan from $199 a month, and a static site can be handed to you to host free. The contractor page has the tiers by trade, and how to choose a web design company is the same four questions with the rest of the list.
Seller pages, all read 16 September 2026, from page one of three searches run the same day plus two pricing addresses opened directly. leaseawebsite.co/plumbing-services-website-design-company · webtricity.com/plumbing-websites · rapidweblaunch.com/for/plumbers-web-design · 99calls.com/Plumbing-Leads.htm · mandywebdesign.com/plumber-web-design-company.php · claremontsoftware.com/plumber-web-design/pricing/ · getroundhouse.com/packages · sproutsagesolutions.com/plumber-website-design-cost/ · hookagency.com/pricing/. Not readable that day: plumbingwebmasters.com/pricing/ and contractorgorilla.com/pricing/ (HTTP 404); no figure in the served HTML: linknow.com/blog/affordable-website-design/plumbing-website-design/ and digitallykaro.com/product/plumbing-service-website-design-01/. Raw extracts: ops/search/measurements/sellers-read-2026-09-16.json.
Our own prices and terms. The home page pricing cards and the Own It card as published: Starter Site from $999, half to start and half at launch; Own It Monthly $149 a month for twelve months, hosting, updates and edits included, yours at month twelve; $999 once against $1,788 over a year; Business Site from $2,499; Care Plan from $199 a month; you own code, content, domain and accounts at the end.
Because the sellers are selling different things under one name. Of thirteen plumber-website seller pages read on 16 September 2026, nine state a price, and they run from a $39-a-month lease to $24,000 paid over twelve months. The pages you get are a small part of the gap. The rest is whether you own the site when you stop paying, what is bundled with it — hosting and edits, a Business Profile, SEO, ad management — and the term: a 90-day minimum, month to month, twelve monthly payments or a one-time price.
Not because it is cheap. The $39-a-month and $49-a-month options read on 16 September 2026 are leases or platform subscriptions: the site exists while you pay, and one platform says in its own words that the code cannot be moved to another host. That is fine for a first year if you know it, and a trap if you thought you were buying something. The question to ask is not the price but what happens on the day you stop paying.
Four things, in writing: who owns the site, the domain and the content when you stop paying; what the monthly figure includes and what is a separate line; the term, the notice period and whether it renews; and how many pages you are getting. Four of the nine seller pages read on 16 September 2026 answer the first question on the page; five leave it for the call. Ours is on the page: $999 once for up to three pages, or $149 a month for twelve months with hosting, updates and edits included and the site yours at month twelve.
Send them both. I'll tell you what each one actually includes, who owns what at the end, and which questions are still unanswered, in plain words.
Works whether or not you end up working with me.